Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

FFI's Board and position-taking model

The FFI Board is elected by the general meeting. The Board has authority over all of FFI's strategic lobbying projects and key issues that concern the entire sector. It also decides on FFI's strategy, organisation, action plan, budget, and other such matters specified in the FFI rules. The Board elects its own Executive Chairman and Vice Chairmen.

Executive Chairman:
Ari Kaperi, Group Chief Risk Officer, Head of Group Risk Management and Country Senior Executive In Finland, Nordea Bank AB

Vice Chairmen:
Erkki Moisander, CEO, LocalTapiola Group
Kari Stadigh, Group CEO and President, Sampo Group

Members of the Board:
Martin Backman, CEO, Aktia Bank
Satu Huber, CEO, Elo Mutual Pension Insurance Company
Antti Kuljukka, CEO, Fennia
Marcus Nystén, Country Manager, SEB Finland
Tomi Närhinen, CEO, Savings Bank Union Coop
Jouko Pölönen, President and CEO, Ilmarinen Mutual Pension Insurance Company
Leena Vainiomäki, Country Senior Exeutive In Finland, Danske Bank
Peter Wiklöf, Managing Director, Bank of Åland
Pekka Ylihurula, CEO, S-Pankki

Piia-Noora Kauppi, Managing Director, Finance Finland

Secretary of the Board:
Lea Mäntyniemi, Head of Legislation, Finance Finland 

Position-taking network has major role 

FFI's core function as a provider of high-quality lobbying is founded upon an extensive position-taking network.

Representatives from FFI members comprise operating bodies, whose central function is to formulate FFI's position on any pending lobbying issues. The operating bodies are also a good source of information on the members' views on societal matters such as legislation and the policies of relevant authorities. Influencing these requires active participation from FFI.

Six sector-specific Executive Committees operate under the direction of the Board. The Executive Committees have their own spheres of authority on all matters that do not influence the operations of other sector-specific Executive Committees or FFI as a whole.

Executive Committees

The FFI Board has appointed the following Executive Committees and their chairmen:

Securities Dealing ExCom, Jukkapekka Laurila, Danske Bank
Life Insurance ExCom, Minna Kohmo, LocalTapiola Group
Banking ExCom, Kenneth Kaarnimo, Danske Bank
Fund and Asset Management ExCom, Ari Kaaro, Seligson & Co
Employee Pension ExCom, Jouko Pölönen, Ilmarinen
Non-life Insurance ExCom, Timo Harju, If P&C Insurance

The Board also appoints Committees and Subcommittees on horizontal matters (e.g. labour market and taxation).